National Association of Federal Retirees (FSNA) Hamilton Branch

Go to content

Main menu:

***2019 UPDATES***

Upcoming Events !

   List of all candidiate meetings in our area.

Read the media coverage of the first all candidate meeting
September 24, 2019 for Hamilton West - Ancaster - Dundas
Click the link below.


  • Report on Minister Karina Gould’s

   Seniors Symposium
   – July 16, 2019

Check out some Pics from the
September 6, 2019 Branch Meeting.                                               >>>

McMaster University offers a great Excercise & Wellness
Program called MacSeniors.
Click here to learn more

A little history of the NAFR Hamilton and Area Branch ON37

The National Office of the then Federal Superannuates National Association (FSNA) was formed in 1963 by Fred Whitehouse, formerly the President of the Civil Service of Canada, who also established the Victoria B.C. Branch as the first Branch of federal retirees. Late in 1963, Fred Whitehouse contacted a former colleague, Mr. Harry Whetton, then President of the Hamilton and District Council of the Civil Service of Canada, about forming a Branch of FSNA in Hamilton and its surrounding area.

On March 16 in 1964, Harry Whetton convened a meeting of retired federal civil servants with only 12 attending because of inclement weather. At that meeting the Hamilton Branch of the FSNA was founded with Mr. G.T. Fitzsimmons as the first president of the new Branch.

The first Branch executive started a recruiting campaign among retirees. Over the next 20 years Branch meetings attracted over 100 members and in 1984 the Branch expanded its area and changed its name to the Hamilton and Area Branch. When the Branch formed, it included retirees that resided in Burlington, Oakville, Brantford, Simcoe, Cayuga, Grimsby, Niagara-on-the-Lake as well as the towns and villages in the Hamilton – Wentworth area.

The retirees residing in Oakville, east of Burloak Drive, and what is now the west part of Milton were transferred to the Halton - Peel Branch when it was formed. The retirees residing in Grimsby, and Niagara – on – the – Lake were transferred to the Niagara Peninsula Branch when it formed.
Some of the Centers included in the Branch area are the communities of Hamilton, Burlington, Dundas, Ancaster, Flamborough, Waterdown, Glanbrook, Binbrook, Brantford, Simcoe, Cayuga, Caledonia and Port Dover (see map above). Membership has grown to about 1,700 and is expanding rapidly.

Back to content | Back to main menu